Jane Feather: The Wedding Game

The Wedding Game

“From Booklist The Duncan sisters may have curbed their morose father’s spending, but only Chastity has to live with him in their London home at the beginning of the twentieth-century because her sisters, Prudence and Constance, from The Bride Hunt and The Bachelor List are each happily married. To generate income, the sisters produce a newspaper and act as matchmakers. Chastity meets a prospective client, … Expand

Regency Sex Symbols: The Duke of Wellington


Oh, baby. A dapper dresser (called “The Beau by his officers), tireless, arrogant, and known to break out into spontaneous dance (when he heard news of Napolean’s defeat he started to dance the flamenco), Wellington is all that is delicious about the Regency man. Born in Ireland into a prominent family, after his education Arthur Wellesley rose to the ranks in the British Army first … Expand

Regency Hot Spots: Bethlem Hospital (Bedlam)

This is Bethlem Hospital in Moorgate (above)  It moved from its spot on Bishopsgate Street (by current Liverpool Station) to Moorfields in 1675 until a new building was completed in St. George’s Fields, Southwark in 1815 (below).  Moorfields housed refugees, poor, and the unsavory of the victims of Great Fire of 1666.  It was therefore seen as a prime place to site Bethlem “lunatic asylum”.  … Expand

Alexandra Benedict: Too Great a Temptation


Book One of the Too series, it is the second I have read from Alexandra Benedict.  Here is the plot: ” A lord so sinful he is dubbed the “Duke of Rogues,” Damian Westmore lives for pleasure—until the day his brother dies at the hands of pirates. Abandoning the libertine life to pursue revenge, Damian finds the criminals he seeks and joins their crew in … Expand